FAQs
Common questions, answered directly
What is the TRICARE allowable charge?The allowable charge is the amount TRICARE uses as the price for a covered service. An in-network provider generally cannot bill you above the allowed patient share. Out-of-network care can leave a balance.What should I know about chcbpcosts?The Continued Health Care Benefit Program is a premium plan you can buy for a limited time after TRICARE eligibility ends. It is not Prime or Select.Does TRICARE cover colorectal cancer exams?Colorectal cancer screening is a preventive-care topic. Which test is covered, and how often, depends on age and risk. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What should I know about prime vs us family health plan?US Family Health Plan is a Prime option in designated locations. It is not available everywhere, and this page does not enroll anyone.Where do I compare TRICARE costs?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.How does TRICARE cover autism care?TRICARE publishes autism-related care under its covered services, including the Autism Care Demonstration. Eligibility for that demonstration is an official decision. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.How does TRICARE cover pregnancy?Maternity care is a covered-services topic. The visits, the delivery setting, and any authorization still have to match your plan. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.How does TRICARE cover women's health care?Women's health services are covered when the specific service is on the official list for your plan. The diagnosis name is not itself an approval. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What does TRICARE Prime cost?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.Where are the current TRICARE premiums?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.What should I know about compare?This page does not print a dollar figure for compare. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.Does TRICARE cover Eliquis?Eliquis is a prescription drug. Whether a plan pays for it is a pharmacy-benefit decision, and some uses need prior authorization. This page does not say that Eliquis is covered.What should I know about CHCBP?The Continued Health Care Benefit Program is a premium plan you can buy for a limited time after TRICARE eligibility ends. It is not Prime or Select.Does TRICARE cover dry-eye care?Dry-eye care can be an office visit, a prescription, or a procedure. Coverage follows that service, not the diagnosis name. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.How do TRICARE Prime and TRICARE Select differ?Prime uses a primary care manager and referrals for most specialty care. Select usually lets you see a network specialist without a referral. Some services still need authorization on both plans. This page does not reprint premiums.Does TRICARE cover acupuncture?Coverage depends on the current covered-services rule for acupuncture and on whether your plan requires a referral. Confirm both before you book a visit.What happens to TRICARE at age 26?TRICARE Young Adult coverage ends at age 26. Regular child coverage usually ends earlier, at 21, or at 23 for a full-time student who qualifies.Does TRICARE cover ambulance services?Yes, when medically necessary — emergency ground ambulance transport is covered when any delay could endanger your life or health, and air or boat ambulance is covered when a ground vehicle can't reach you or reach appropriate care fast enough.Does TRICARE cover assistive technology?Assistive technology is considered under the durable-equipment and covered-services rules. The device, the diagnosis, and the authorization are separate questions. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover a breast pump?The official breast pump page says TRICARE covers one manual or standard electric breast pump per birth event, plus certain supplies, when you meet the eligibility rules on that page.Can stepchildren get tricare?Eligibility for can stepchildren get tricare is decided in DEERS and on the official eligibility page. This site does not approve or deny it.Does TRICARE cover cataract surgery?Yes — TRICARE covers the facility services, doctor services, and supplies needed to insert a standard monofocal intraocular lens (IOL), plus lenses correcting astigmatism or presbyopia and related follow-up care.How do I change my Primary Care Manager (PCM)?The fastest way is through Beneficiary Web Enrollment on milConnect — click Change PCM, search for your new provider, select them, and submit; the change takes effect immediately online.What should I know about CHCBP continued health coverage?The Continued Health Care Benefit Program is a premium plan you can buy for a limited time after TRICARE eligibility ends. It is not Prime or Select.What should I know about CHCBP coverage?The Continued Health Care Benefit Program is a premium plan you can buy for a limited time after TRICARE eligibility ends. It is not Prime or Select.Does TRICARE cover well-child visits?Yes, at no cost — TRICARE covers well-child office visits, immunizations, and vision screenings from birth through age 6, on any plan.Does TRICARE cover chiropractic care?Generally no — chiropractic care is only covered through the limited Chiropractic Health Care Program, which is restricted to active duty service members and activated Guard/Reserve members at designated military hospitals and clinics.Does TRICARE cover birth control?Many contraceptive methods are a covered benefit. The method, your plan, and any cost share still have to be confirmed on the current covered-services and pharmacy pages.Does TRICARE cover cosmetic surgery?Surgery to improve appearance is generally not covered. Surgery to restore function or repair a defect can be covered when it meets the medical-necessity rules.Does TRICARE cover couples or family therapy?Outpatient mental health care can be covered when it is medically necessary. A couples or family visit is covered only when it is part of that care, not as a general relationship class.Does a VA disability rating give me TRICARE?No, not by itself — the VA and TRICARE are separate programs, and a VA disability rating alone doesn't make you TRICARE-eligible.Is there a TRICARE exception for a disabled adult child aging out of coverage?Yes. A severely disabled or incapacitated child may remain TRICARE-eligible beyond the normal age limit if the disability began before age 21 (or 23 if a full-time student) and the child is unmarried — but the sponsor's Service determines this eligibility, not TRICARE itself.Can a disabled adult child stay on TRICARE?An unmarried child who cannot support themselves because a disability began before the usual age limit may stay eligible. The sponsor has to register that status in DEERS.What should I know about divorced spouse tricare?An unremarried former spouse keeps TRICARE only when an official former-spouse rule is met, including the 20/20/20 rule. This page does not decide that case.What durable medical equipment (DME) does TRICARE cover?TRICARE covers durable medical equipment prescribed by a physician — items built for repeated use with a genuine medical purpose that help a body part function better or keep a condition from worsening — under TRICARE Prime, Select, and For Life.Do I need a referral with TRICARE Prime?In most cases, yes. TRICARE Prime generally requires a referral from your Primary Care Manager (PCM) before you see a specialist.Does TRICARE cover dermatology?Yes, for medically necessary diagnosis and treatment of skin disorders — whether you need a referral depends on your plan: TRICARE Prime, US Family Health Plan, and purchased TRICARE Young Adult-Prime require one; other TRICARE plans don't.Does TRICARE cover erectile dysfunction treatment?Only when the cause is organic (such as a vascular condition, diabetic neuropathy, spinal cord injury, or thyroid disease) — erectile dysfunction from psychological or psychiatric causes like depression, anxiety, or stress is not covered.Does TRICARE cover genetic testing?Yes, when it's medically necessary, proven, and the result will actually influence your medical management — including preconception/prenatal carrier screening (one test per condition, per lifetime) and BRCA1/BRCA2 testing for women identified as high-risk.Does TRICARE cover lab work, and how do I get my results?Yes — TRICARE covers medically necessary lab tests ordered by a doctor, and if you're seen at a military hospital or clinic, results are available immediately through the MHS GENESIS Patient Portal.Does TRICARE cover occupational therapy?Occupational therapy can be covered when it is medically necessary. Visit limits and authorization rules depend on the plan. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover podiatry?Podiatry is covered when the visit or procedure is medically necessary under the official rule. Routine foot care can be excluded. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover skilled nursing facility care?The official skilled nursing page says the care is covered when its conditions are met, including a qualifying hospital stay, and that there is no day limit while the care is medically necessary.Does TRICARE cover speech therapy?Yes, when medically necessary — TRICARE covers speech therapy for speech, language, and voice dysfunctions from birth defects, disease, injury, hearing loss, or developmental disorders, including articulation disorders, language delays, stuttering, aphasia, and swallowing difficulties (dysphagia).Does TRICARE cover surgery?Medically necessary surgery can be a covered service. The decision depends on the procedure, the plan, and whether authorization is required. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover TMJ treatment?Sometimes, and it depends on whether the treatment is medical or dental — TMJ/TMD treatment is not a covered dental benefit, but may be covered under TRICARE medical benefits when it addresses a genuine medical problem.How does TRICARE work when both spouses are service members?When two uniformed service members are married, each person has their own eligibility, and a child is registered in DEERS under one sponsor. Confirm that sponsor assignment before you enroll the child.How does TRICARE work for a dual-status technician?A dual-status technician's eligibility follows the official rule for that duty status. Confirm the status in DEERS before you assume which plan applies.Is emergency care covered by TRICARE?Yes — TRICARE covers emergency care for an illness or injury that threatens your life, limb, sight, or safety, including professional and institutional charges and services ordered or administered in an emergency room.What does an emergency room visit cost with TRICARE?It depends on your plan: active-duty service members generally pay nothing; TRICARE Prime non-active-duty beneficiaries pay about $30 per visit; TRICARE Standard/Select beneficiaries pay 20-25% after their deductible, or a set copay at a network facility.How do I enroll my newborn in TRICARE?Register your child in DEERS within 90 days of birth (120 days overseas) — your child can't have a TRICARE plan until they're in DEERS, and if you miss the deadline, TRICARE won't pay claims starting on day 91 (day 121 overseas).Does TRICARE cover my child while they're a full-time college student?Yes — a full-time college student can keep regular TRICARE coverage until their 23rd birthday or graduation, whichever comes first, instead of losing eligibility at 21.Does TRICARE cover glasses or contact lenses?Generally no — TRICARE medical only covers glasses or contact lenses to treat specific medical conditions, like infantile glaucoma, not routine nearsightedness or farsightedness, and it doesn't cover routine contact lens fittings at all, even during a covered eye exam.What TRICARE coverage do "gray area" retirees have?A gray-area retiree — someone who completed 20 qualifying years and moved into the Retired Reserve but hasn't yet started drawing retired pay — can purchase TRICARE Retired Reserve (TRR), which delivers TRICARE Select-level benefits.What is the difference between Group A and Group B retirees?Group A and Group B are retiree categories on the official cost charts. Group A is a sponsor whose initial enlistment or appointment was before January 1, 2018. Group B is on or after that date. This page does not reprint the cost chart.How much does tricare cost?This page does not print a dollar figure for how much does tricare cost. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.How do I add a dependent to TRICARE?The sponsor must first register the family member in DEERS at an ID card office, then enroll them in a TRICARE health plan through milConnect's Beneficiary Web Enrollment tool.How do I check my TRICARE eligibility?Make sure your information is current in DEERS, then log in to milConnect to check your eligibility — or call the DMDC/DEERS Support Office at 800-538-9552 if you'd rather not go online.How do I disenroll from TRICARE?Disenrollment is done through Beneficiary Web Enrollment or your regional contractor. This site cannot disenroll you. Some disenrollments have a lockout, so read the official rule before you submit one.How do I enroll in TRICARE?Enrollment starts with a current DEERS record. Then use Beneficiary Web Enrollment or your regional contractor during open season or a qualifying life event.How do I find a TRICARE-approved pharmacy?Use the Express Scripts network pharmacy locator at militaryrx.express-scripts.com, or search by ZIP code to find one of the 41,000+ TRICARE retail network pharmacy locations.How do I request my military medical records?Complete a Request Pertaining to Military Records (SF-180) and submit it to the organization listed on the form, or request records in person at your last military hospital or clinic.How do I switch from TRICARE Prime to TRICARE Select?Change your enrollment through milConnect (fastest), by phone with your regional contractor, or by mail — but you can only make the switch during TRICARE Open Season or after a Qualifying Life Event, unless you're already eligible to switch freely.How do I update my address or contact information in DEERS?Update it online through ID Card Online under "My Profile," or call the DMDC/DEERS Support Office at 800-538-9552 — a physical address is required, since P.O. boxes aren't accepted.Does the Individual Ready Reserve (IRR) get TRICARE?Almost no TRICARE medical coverage — IRR members can purchase the TRICARE Dental Program, but generally don't qualify for TRICARE Reserve Select or any other TRICARE health benefit unless they're currently on active duty orders or recently deactivated.Does TRICARE cover learning disability testing?Look up learning disorders in the official covered-services directory before you book testing. Autism care is a separate benefit, and special-needs resources are listed on their own official page.I lost my TRICARE card. How do I get a replacement?TRICARE doesn't issue a separate insurance card — your Uniformed Services ID card is your proof of coverage, so a lost card is replaced at a RAPIDS ID card office, not through TRICARE.Does TRICARE cover medevac or air ambulance?Emergency air ambulance can be covered when ground transport cannot get you to the right care in time. Military aeromedical evacuation is a service mission and is not the same claim. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What TRICARE benefits do I get if I'm medically retired?You get TRICARE as a retired service member, and eligible family members qualify as retiree family members too — but you must enroll in a TRICARE plan within 90 days of retirement.What does mental health care cost with TRICARE?Active-duty service members pay nothing for mental health services from or authorized by the Military Health System; other beneficiaries pay a copay or cost-share that depends on their specific plan, sponsor status, and whether the provider is in-network.What is the MHS GENESIS Patient Portal?It's the secure online portal for your Military Health System electronic health record — used to message your care team, see lab and test results, and manage care at military hospitals and clinics from home.Does TRICARE cover a midwife or a birth center?Certified nurse-midwife care and birth-center care are maternity topics. The provider and the setting still have to be allowed for your plan. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What is milConnect and what can I do with it?milConnect is the DEERS-managed portal where military beneficiaries update their information and manage TRICARE enrollment online, at milconnect.dmdc.osd.mil.Does TRICARE decide military maternity leave?Parental leave is a service personnel policy. TRICARE covers maternity care. Those are different questions, and this page does not state a leave length.Does TRICARE have a 24/7 nurse advice line?Yes — the Global/MHS Nurse Advice Line is free, available 24/7 by phone, web chat, or video chat. In the U.S., Guam, or Puerto Rico, call 800-TRICARE (800-874-2273) and choose Option 1.How does dental coverage work overseas?Overseas dental coverage is a TRICARE Dental Program question, not a medical-plan question. Start on the official dental program page.Are my parents or parents-in-law eligible for TRICARE?Only in a limited way — if you're on active duty for more than 30 days or retired, your dependent parents or parents-in-law may access military hospitals/clinics and enroll in TRICARE Plus, but TRICARE will not pay for their care from civilian providers.What should I know about pediatric vision dental?Pediatric vision and pediatric dental benefits are separate. This page does not merge them into one covered amount.What do TRICARE prescriptions cost?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.What does prenatal care cost with TRICARE?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.Does TRICARE cover prenatal genetic testing?TRICARE may cover genetic testing when it is medically necessary, proven, and appropriate, and when the result will influence medical care. Genetic counseling before the test can be covered. The official page lists genetic screening tests among examples that are not covered.When can I refill my TRICARE prescription?Standard mail-order refills are available after two-thirds of your supply is used (for example, day 60 of a 90-day prescription); early refills for non-controlled medications are allowed once you've used 50% or more of your current supply.What preventive care does TRICARE cover?TRICARE covers a broad set of screenings — vision, cancer, blood pressure, diabetes, and more — plus one annual Health Promotion and Disease Prevention (HP&DP) exam with no copay if you're 6 or older.How do I get a TRICARE proof of coverage letter?Log in to milConnect and use the Proof of Coverage / Eligibility Letter feature to generate, save, and print it yourself — no phone call needed.Does TRICARE cover psychiatric medications?Yes — TRICARE covers prescribed mental health medications (for conditions like depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, and schizophrenia) when a psychiatric provider determines medication is the appropriate treatment.What TRICARE options exist after a reserve retirement?A retired reserve member may have a premium plan before age 60 and a different option after. The official plan comparison is the decision, not a summary on this site.What dental coverage do retirees have?Retiree dental coverage is not the active-duty family TRICARE Dental Program. Retirees use the federal dental program described on the official dental page.Does TRICARE cover a second opinion?A second medical opinion can be covered when your plan allows that visit. Prime may still require a referral. This page does not promise that every second opinion is paid.What happens to TRICARE when you separate?Separating from service changes TRICARE eligibility. The sponsor updates DEERS, then checks which plan, if any, still fits.Are stepchildren eligible for TRICARE?Yes, until age 21 (or 23 if a full-time college student) — but only as long as the stepchild's parent stays married to the sponsor.What should I know about surviving spouse coverage?A surviving spouse or child may keep TRICARE when DEERS still shows that survivor status. This page does not decide the case.What should I know about surviving spouse tricare?A surviving spouse or child may keep TRICARE when DEERS still shows that survivor status. This page does not decide the case.What is TAMP transitional coverage?TAMP is transitional coverage after certain separations. Who qualifies, and for how long, is an official eligibility decision. This page does not state a length of coverage.Does TRICARE cover allergy testing and shots?Allergy testing and treatment can be covered when they are medically necessary. Your plan may require a referral before the visit or the shots.How do I fix a TRICARE billing error or denied claim?First compare the provider's invoice against your Explanation of Benefits (EOB) from your regional contractor — if the provider billed more than the TRICARE-allowed amount, contact their billing office directly; if a claim was denied incorrectly, contact your regional contractor about a coding correction.Does TRICARE cover braces and orthodontics?Only through the separate TRICARE Dental Program (TDP), which pays 50% of the allowable charge up to a $1,750 lifetime maximum — regular TRICARE medical coverage does not pay for routine braces at all.Does TRICARE cover mental health care for a child?Child mental health care can be covered when the service and the provider are allowed for the plan. Authorization rules still apply. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What should I know about childbirth hospital costs?This page does not print a dollar figure for childbirth hospital costs. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.How do I check a TRICARE claim?Check the claim in your regional contractor's secure portal, or call the contractor for your region. Have the claim number and the date of care.What should I know about costs active duty?This page does not print a dollar figure for costs active duty. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What should I know about costs comparison tool?This page does not print a dollar figure for costs comparison tool. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What should I know about costs retirees?This page does not print a dollar figure for costs retirees. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What is the TRICARE deductible?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.Does TRICARE cover dental implants?Dental implants follow the dental program unless a covered medical condition makes the service medical care. The dental contractor, not this page, prices the case.When can I enroll in or change TRICARE?You can enroll or change plans during open season and after a qualifying life event. The dates are published by TRICARE for that year. Do not rely on a date copied from an old article.What does TRICARE For Life cost?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.What is TRICARE's current gender-affirming care policy?The Defense Health Agency sets this policy, and it changes. Read the current covered-services page and ask your regional contractor before you schedule. This listing is not a coverage approval.Does TRICARE cover home birth?Yes, stateside only — TRICARE covers a planned home birth, subject to referral and pre-authorization requirements, but home births are not covered overseas.Does TRICARE cover home health care?Home health care can be covered when it is medically necessary and authorized. A preference for care at home is not the same as an approval. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover hospice?Hospice care can be covered when the official hospice rules are met. An election of hospice is a specific benefit, not a general home-care approval. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What should I know about hospital costs?This page does not print a dollar figure for hospital costs. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What does TRICARE not cover?Excluded services are published in the official Is It Covered directory. This page does not copy that list and does not decide a claim.Does TRICARE cover nursing home care?No, not custodial nursing home or assisted-living care — but TRICARE does cover skilled nursing facility (SNF) care, which is a different, medically-focused benefit with its own eligibility rules.What are my TRICARE out-of-network benefits?You still have coverage with a TRICARE-authorized non-network provider, but you'll pay more and may have to file the claim yourself — seeing a provider who isn't TRICARE-authorized at all means you're responsible for the full cost.What is the TRICARE out-of-pocket maximum?Premiums, deductibles, and copays change by plan and beneficiary category. Use the official TRICARE costs page for the current chart. This page does not reprint dollar amounts.Does TRICARE cover over-the-counter drugs?Some over-the-counter drugs are on the pharmacy benefit when a provider prescribes them. The formulary says which ones. A drugstore price tag is not a coverage decision.Which TRICARE plan applies overseas?The overseas plan depends on your status. TRICARE Select Overseas has its own official page, and TRICARE For Life has separate overseas rules.How do I pay a TRICARE premium or enrollment fee?Premiums and enrollment fees are paid through the official enrollment payment channels. This website does not take that payment.Does TRICARE cover physical therapy, and are there session limits?Yes, when it's medically necessary and a proven treatment — TRICARE doesn't publish one fixed session cap; instead you get an initial allotment of visits, and your therapist's notes and standards of care justify additional visits as medically necessary.What is TRICARE Prime Remote?TRICARE Prime Remote is the official plan for eligible service members and families who live and work away from a military hospital or clinic. Eligibility, including distance, is on that page.How does TRICARE provider reimbursement and claims filing work?In most cases your provider files the claim for you; you generally only file your own claim when seeing a non-network or non-participating provider, getting care overseas, or getting care outside your region.When does TRICARE require a referral?TRICARE Prime requires a referral for covered care you do not get from your primary care manager, with narrow exceptions. TRICARE Select usually does not require a referral, and some services still need pre-authorization.What should I know about select cost shares?This page does not print a dollar figure for select cost shares. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.Does TRICARE cover dermatology for a skin condition?Care for a diagnosed skin condition can be covered when it is medically necessary. Your plan decides whether you need a referral before a dermatology visit.Does TRICARE cover sleep studies and CPAP machines?Yes, with conditions — sleep studies require a referral to a sleep disorder center and medical evidence of need, and CPAP machine coverage (especially portable units) has narrower, plan- and region-specific requirements.What should I know about specialist costs?This page does not print a dollar figure for specialist costs. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.Does TRICARE cover telemedicine?TRICARE lists virtual health as a covered-service topic. Confirm the visit type, the provider, and any referral before the appointment.Does TRICARE limit therapy sessions?Session limits depend on the kind of therapy. Mental health care is on the official mental health page. Physical, occupational, and speech therapy are separate covered services.How do TRICARE and VA health care work together?You can have both at the same time and choose which to use per visit, but they don't coordinate like commercial insurance — TRICARE won't duplicate a payment VA already made or authorized for the same care.Does TRICARE cover vaccines?Yes, at no cost, for age-appropriate vaccines recommended by the CDC — but only when a pharmacist administers the vaccine at a participating network pharmacy; getting it from a provider can trigger office-visit copays or cost-shares even though the vaccine itself is still covered.Does TRICARE cover weight-loss programs?TRICARE publishes separate rules for weight-management drugs and for other weight-loss services. A program, a drug, and a plan are three different questions.Does TRICARE cover wellness programs?Preventive services and wellness programs are not the same thing. A covered screening is on the official preventive list. A gym or coaching program needs its own rule. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.Does TRICARE cover eye exams and vision care?It depends on who you are: active-duty family members get annual routine eye exams on any plan, but retirees and their families need TRICARE Prime and are limited to one routine exam every two years — TRICARE Select and TRICARE For Life don't cover routine eye exams at all.What is the TRICARE point-of-service option?Under Prime, the point-of-service option lets you get care without the required referral. You pay more than you would for referred care. This page does not reprint that cost-share.What is tricare us family health plan?US Family Health Plan is a Prime option in designated locations. It is not available everywhere, and this page does not enroll anyone.How does TRICARE Young Adult coverage work?TRICARE Young Adult is a premium plan an unmarried adult child can buy from age 21 until they turn 26, if they are not eligible for an employer plan or another TRICARE plan.What should I know about cost share?This page does not print a dollar figure for cost share. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What should I know about sponsor?Eligibility for sponsor is decided in DEERS and on the official eligibility page. This site does not approve or deny it.What should I know about TFL?TRICARE For Life is the Medicare-wraparound coverage for people who have both Medicare and TRICARE. Turning 65 is the usual start, and this page does not enroll anyone.What should I know about well child care?Eligibility for well child care is decided in DEERS and on the official eligibility page. This site does not approve or deny it.Where is the history of the TRICARE program?This independent site does not publish a history of the TRICARE program. Program changes are announced on the official site.What do I update with TRICARE when I move?After a move, update DEERS, then transfer or re-enroll with the contractor for the new region before you need care there.Can a parent become a secondary dependent for TRICARE?A parent or parent-in-law can be a secondary dependent only when the official financial-support and relationship rules are met and DEERS is updated. This page does not decide that status.Where are the official TRICARE manuals?Program manuals are official publications. This site does not reprint them.Where do I find a military hospital or clinic?Use the official military hospital and clinic finder. A listing in this site's provider directory is a public NPPES record, not a military hospital assignment.What is TRICARE Retired Reserve?TRICARE Retired Reserve is a premium plan for qualified retired reserve members and their families before they become eligible for other retired coverage. The premium is on the official cost chart, not on this page.What should I know about us family health plan?US Family Health Plan is a Prime option in designated locations. It is not available everywhere, and this page does not enroll anyone.Where are the official TRICARE publications?Handbooks, fact sheets, and cost sheets are published by TRICARE. This site does not host those files.Is a spouse eligible for TRICARE?A spouse can be eligible when the sponsor registers that spouse in DEERS. A marriage certificate by itself does not create the enrollment.Does TRICARE cover sterilization?Sterilization is a covered-services topic. The current rule, including any consent or setting requirement, is on the official list. Confirm the current rule on the official covered-services list before you schedule, and ask your regional contractor whether that service needs a referral or authorization.What should I know about the costs of echo?This page does not print a dollar figure for the costs of echo. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What should I know about select in network mri back scan cost?This page does not print a dollar figure for select in network mri back scan cost. Use the official costs chart, then ask your contractor which line applies to your plan.What should I know about USFHP?US Family Health Plan is a Prime option in designated locations. It is not available everywhere, and this page does not enroll anyone.